Info About the Navajo Nation

Navajo Nation Governmental Structure

The elected President and Vice President head the Executive Branch, which is comprised of ten executive departments, identified as “Divisions.” The Divisions provide a broad range of governmental services to Navajo Nation members and other residents of the Navajo Nation.

The Navajo Nation’s inherent right to self-govern is sacred and demonstrated through daily governmental actions. As the governing body of the Navajo Nation, the Navajo Nation Council has the authority to pass laws which govern the Navajo Nation, members of the Navajo Nation, and certain conduct of non-member Indians and non-Indians within the territorial boundaries of the Navajo Nation.

The Navajo Nation central government is composed of three branches headquartered in Window Rock, Navajo Nation (Arizona).

An 24 member popularly-elected Council. The Legislative Branch contains various offices and boards, which are administered by the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council.

The Judicial Branch consists of a system of seven District Courts, seven Family Courts, seven Peacemaker courts, and a Supreme Court.

One hundred and ten local government subdivisions, identified as Chapters, exist throughout Navajoland.

All branches of the Navajo Nation government exercise varied delegated powers and governmental authority in accordance with Navajo statutory, regulatory, and common law.